Leaders in renewables innovation shortlisted for Action Renewables Awards

Following the highest entry rate to date for the annual Action Renewables Awards, this week Action Renewables joined with event sponsors renewable electricity supplier Vayu Energy, Tughans Solicitors and the Department of Environment to announce the shortlisted entries for the awards, which will take place on 31st March at Titanic Belfast.  Now in their 8th year, the Action Renewables Awards are recognised as the flagship awards of the renewables industry in Northern Ireland.

Following the announcement of the shortlist for this year’s awards luncheon Ciaran McConville, Business Development and Marketing Assistant, Action Renewables, said “the outstanding number of entries for this year’s awards shows that enthusiasm for renewables in Norther Ireland is continuing to grow from strength to strength as more and more local businesses, community organisations, schools and trust harness the power of renewables to cut costs and reduce carbon footprints.”

“We are delighted to sponsor the Action Renewables Awards for the second year running,” added Mary Rossiter, Marketing Manager, Vayu Energy.  “This year’s entries were outstanding and we look forward to acknowledging all of the local individuals and organisations helping to further renewables in Northern Ireland. As a supplier of 100% green electricity, we are seeing increased interest in renewables among Northern Irish businesses looking to cut costs, reduce their carbon emissions, and cut reliance on imported fuel sources.”

Continuing their long-standing relationship with the Action Renewables Awards, Maria O’Loan, Planning and Environment Partner, Tughans added, “We have been especially impressed this year with the level of entries from small community groups and the third sector, showing that renewables are no longer considered a non-essential alternative energy, but instead a modern and forward-thinking means of responsibly fuelling Northern Ireland.”

“These awards are a great way to reward and celebrate steps local organisations are taking to reduce their environmental impact,” added Angus Kerr, Director of Planning Policy Division, Department of Environment. “We are delighted to sponsor the Action Renewables Awards in 2016 and look forward to recognising the outstanding work that local companies are doing to ‘go green.’”

Winners of the 2016 Action Renewables Awards will be announced at the flagship industry awards event held at Titanic Belfast with host Jamie Delargy in advance of a gourmet lunch and afternoon networking event on Thursday 31st March.

Mary Rossiter, Marketing Manager, Vayu Energy

Mary Rossiter,  Vayu Energy, and Maria O’Loan, Tughans and Ciaran McConville, Action Renewables

Action Renewables Awards

Mary Rossiter, Vayu Energy, Maria O’Loan, Tughans and Ciaran McConville, Action Renewables, Vayu Energy sponsors Action Renewables Awards

This year’s shortlisted award entries are:

Best Community Renewables Project

  • Bryson Energy
  • Grass Roots Renewables CIC
  • NICE (Northern Ireland Community Energy Cooperative

 Best Renewables Installation within the Education, Health Care and Public Sector

  • Fold Housing Association
  • Northern Ireland Assembly
  • Saliis Renewables Ltd

 Best Planning For a Sustainable Project

  • Choice Housing Ireland Ltd
  • Hamilton Architects
  • JCP Consulting Ltd

Most Environmentally Sustainable Construction Project

  • Choice Housing Ireland Ltd
  • Graham Austin, Green Energy Store Ltd
  • John Graham Construction Ltd

Most Successful Renewable Heat Installation

  • Alternative Heat Ltd
  • Ballyboyland Biomass
  • Bryson Energy

Most Successful Renewable Electricity Installation

  • BHC Distributors
  • Northern Ireland Housing Executive
  • Saliis Renewables Ltd

Best Energy Saving SME

  • Ballylagan Organic Farm
  • Harvey Group PLC
  • Ocean View Chalets

Best Energy Saving Large Organisation

  • Fold Housing Association
  • South Eastern Health & Social Care Trust
  • Queens University

Outstanding Award For Work In the Renewable Energy Sector in NI

  • Dominic McLarnon (University of Ulster)
  • Noel Rice (NIHE)
  • Richard Bell (Solmatix)

What some of our Customers are Saying